Opinions from past winter travellers PLZ!

Hello Topdeckers,

I just have a few questions for those of you who have done the winter tours with Topdeck in the past. I am a travel consultant right now a company that deals with student based travel and I’ve been meaning to get out on a Topdeck or Contiki. Before my current job, I was a tour guide for a Canadian company and I know the bus routine and packed itins that are expected. After hearing some reviews I’m leaning towards Topdeck quite a bit and I like the looks of the Winter Rhapsody (any opinions on this tour would be awesome!). I just have some questions for those of you who’ve travelled with Topdeck in the past. Your feed back is much appreciated!!

1. Alot of complaints I have heard from Contiki travellers is that they spend “all” of their time on the bus and barely in the cities. Did you find you barely able to see the city you were in and it was all BUS BUS BUS or did you think there was enough free time/time well spent while there?

2. Did you find the bus uncomfortable having to drive for great lengths? I have spent a good amount of time travelling by bus (24hrs straight in some cases) and understand how things work, but I’d be going to see Europe, not the bus.

3. Did you find everything noticable less busy because it was winter?

4. Are the days’ itineraries packed or do they give you a good amount of free time? I would prefer free time but with the safety and confidence of a guide who can give me the ins and outs of the city as well.

Thanks for the help! I’ll post more Q’s if I think of any :slight_smile:

Hi Roxy,

I’ve done a couple of Top Deck tours and am now booked onto the Winter Spirit this year. I’ve also done Contiki and I would definitely refer my friends to Top Deck over Contiki, for the simple reason that Top Deck treats you like an adult. As for your questions: