2 week European Wonder Trip Questions

Continuing the discussion from Questions, Tips & Advice for All Tours - ASK HERE:

Hiii this is my very first time travelling alone and would like to ask some questions regards to travelling in genereal :slight_smile:

1. In regards to money, what are some options of ways to spend money in Europe? I heard there is a way of using a travel card… which is to have all my money in one card and I can withdraw certain amount of money at nearby ATM in each country? ( am I correct?) What are some other options?- Since I will be going to London, France, Germany, Belgium, Switzerland, Italy, Austria and Netherlands… will it be wiser to change currency as I move to each country?–> and where do I go to do this?

2. Phone–> I am using Vodafone in Australia and so I am planning to get a pretty good roaming deal… but alternatively I heard I can just buy SIM card in each country I arrive in but I am a bit worried that I might not get a chance to get one as the schedule for my trip is pretty packed. Could you outline some options about using phone / internet in Europe?

3. Optional activities—> There would be days I will not be doing some optional activities due to my tight budget. Are we going to get free time when everyone else goes to do optional activities?

4. Food–> We won’t always be going to a fancy restaurant or cafes right? Are we allowed to buy ingredients and cook simple dishes on our own? What are some suggestions to cook with budget in Europe or to eat fairly good dish outdoor in Europe? :slight_smile:

Thank you!!!

Hey Julie!

Ahh your first trip solo! So exciting - I did mine alone and had the best time!

ATM’s are super accesible in Europe, but I would recommend taking Euro as your main cash point in Europe. I took a travel card and it was really handy so I’d suggest contacting your bank to see if they have ones that might limit fees :slight_smile: